It’s Time for A New Summer Music Playlist — Robin Thicke, Pistol Annies, Natalie Maines and More

PistolAnnies

Having spent my morning commute the past several weeks reading (the horror!), I haven’t spent much time listening to music. I’ve missed it. Though I’m hardly a music snob (my taste tends to run more Top 40 and country pop than indie rock), there’s nothing like a good tune to get you going in the morning. So, with summer on the horizon, last night I made the decision to create a new playlist to rock out to as I make my away around New York City. Here’s what made the cut:

The number one song I added is “Wings,” by Little Mix, a group I couldn’t tell you a single thing about. (Watch the video here.) Are they British? American? Who knows?! Apparently this song was actually released last summer, but it’s only somehow just now made it onto my radar. It’s a totally infectious hybrid of every Destiny’s Child and Pussycat Dolls song, and I can’t resist it — call-and-response, drumline and all. I’m obsessed.

Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines,” featuring Pharrel Williams and T.I., is an absolutely ridiculous song, and I haven’t yet been able to make out about 3/4 of the words (which is probably for the best), but the groove is so funky I can’t stop listening to it. Check out their live performance of the song on The Voice here.

The Voice coach Blake Shelton’s wife Miranda Lambert, who I’ve been a fan of ever since her stint on Nashville Star, has reconnected with her Pistol Annies girls for a new CD, and I’m loving their new single “Hush.” (Watch the video here.) They’re totally channeling the sassy spirit of the Dixie Chicks, and their harmonies are just as tight.

Speaking of the Dixie Chicks, that group’s outspoken lead singer, Natalie Maines, has put out her first solo album, called Mother. (My current favorite track from the EP is “Without You” –video here.) I’ve been fiending for Ms. Maines’ voice since the release of the Chicks’ last album almost seven years ago, so I have a feeling I’m going to be spending a lot of time with this album over the next few months.

Finally, I’ve dug into the archives for some Robyn, namely “Call Your Girlfriend.” (Try not to imitate her choreography when watching the sensational video here.) When is the Swedish powerhouse going to release some new music? I’m ready!

What are you listening to these days? Any suggestions for me?

About allinsparetime

Thoughts on TV, movies, theater, books and more from an opinionated pop culture addict
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

